Discover Challenge-The Things We Leave Behind

In my short time on this Earth, there are not a lot of things that I have left behind. Recently, I have had to walk away from something that has been a part of my life for the last four years.

job-clipart-cliparti1_job-clip-art_07

Image from clipartpanda.com

Four years at a workplace is almost unheard of for a first job. I was fifteen when I started working somewhere with a consistent paycheck. I had a one goal; to save up for a car. I never could have imagined that I would be there until I started college.

I remember my first day. I remember the countless hours of computer training. I remember how anxious I was to get on the floor and start working. I remember how shy I was to talk to anyone, but how I quickly outgrew that. I remember loving where I worked and being proud that I had job. I will remember all of these things.

I also remember the abnormal feeling when I thought about leaving. It still feels that way now. It is time for me to move on though. I can live without working my first job. However, I would never wish to go back.

The existence of this job was good and bad. It was good because: I learned responsibility, I met some amazing people, I gained experience for other jobs in the future, I could see my what my life would look like if I did not go to school, and it made me grow up a little. From this experience I will carry these things with me for the rest of my life.

Where there is good there is also bad. Over time my job became stressful. I felt like I could not advance with this company, and my managers were the ones holding me back. Once my school schedule became more demanding my hours got cut. I had to explain myself every time I had a school event, or when I started college they did not respect that my schedule would change each semester. Even when I gave a more open availability, they refused to work me when I could.

I started to become very stressed. I had to somehow pay for school, and after being at this

storms.jpg

Photo from etinspires.com

place for four years they feel like they can treat me like this. I explained to them on multiple occasions why I needed the hours, and how I was being as flexible as I could, probably more than I should have.

This went on before I started college. I just ignored it, thinking it would get better. It never did.

I constantly came home upset and stressed that it finally took its toll on my mental health. Again, I tried to ignore that but it kept getting worse.

As of last Wednesday, I will longer be working there after the third of August. My workplace is very angry with me, but I need something different. I need something that will help me advance, and at the same time respect me. I have never felt more free.

Throughout my time here I have also given 110%, even when I felt like that was not deserved. I am not sure what this place will be like without my existence, but I know that they are losing a hard-worker. I have had several of my co-worker’s demand that I visit

5783321374_7f6b3e2b4d_z

Photo by Sean MacEntee

them because they will miss me, and I know my customers will feel the same way.

As I reflect on my time here I have mixed emotions. I do not regret working here, but I do
regret not leaving sooner. I truly believe that if I would have left sooner my mental health would not be as bad as I is now. I have taken much wrongful treatment on behalf of my managers and my head of department. I have been trampled on, walked all over, and oppressed.

I do see a light at the end of this tunnel. I have a new job and I start this Thursday. I could not be more excited and relieved! I will always look back on this experience to realize how far I have come, because I grew so much from it. In the future, I will be more willing to stand up for myself and have a stronger backbone than before.

To end my daily challenge post I will give a quote by Bill Withers: “I feel that is healthier to look out at the world through a window than through a mirror. Otherwise, all you see if yourself and whatever is behind you.”

new-beginning.jpg

Photo by: fitnessedgecleveland.com

 

Leave a Reply

